You want a name in Arabic calligraphy: for a gift, a wedding card, a frame or a tattoo sketch. Several free tools do it. They differ in three things that matter later: what draws the letters, which files you get, and whether you may print what you made. We read each tool’s own pages on 4 October 2026; where a page did not say, we say so.
Mashq Studio is ours. We put it in the same table, with the same questions.
What three questions to ask
Is it a script or a font named after one? Most generators type the name in a typeface and label it with a script’s name. That can look fine for a quick picture. Look at the letters, not the label: a Diwani name should look like Diwani.
Will it print large? A PNG or JPG is pixels: fine on a phone, soft on a wall. SVG and PDF are vector and stay sharp at any size; DXF is what a laser cutter reads.
May you sell it? A gift for your mother and a logo you sell are different uses. Read the tool’s terms, and the licence of the typeface it used.
Before anything is printed or inked, have a native reader check the spelling. Arabic letters change shape with their neighbours, and a transliterated name can come out wrong.
The tools
Mashq Studio (ours)
What writes the letters
42 styles of the classical scripts (Naskh, Thuluth, Diwani, Kufi, Ruq’ah, Farsi Nastaliq and more), set from real typefaces by the same shaping engine typesetters use. You can stretch the joins and move a single letter.
Files
SVG, PNG, PDF and DXF (for laser cutting).
Use and licence
Personal use is free. For commercial use (selling prints, a logo, a client’s job) it depends on the typeface, so ask us first with the design link.
Watermark
The first 4 downloads are free: the first 3 carry a small stamp, the 4th is clean.
Price
Designing is free, with no account. Clean files after that: a 7-day pass for AED 25, or 3 months for AED 49. Or have the design made: printed and framed in the UAE from AED 60, a name framed at A3 for AED 185.
Source: https://studio.mashq.ae/pricing · https://studio.mashq.ae/terms · read on 4 October 2026
Kaleam
What writes the letters
Five classical scripts (Thuluth, Diwani, Farsi, Naskh and Ruq’a); its page says you can change every curve and stroke. It does not say whether the letters come from typefaces.
Files
SVG and PDF. Exports are counted per plan: 2 on the free trial, 20 on Basic, 60 on Pro.
Use and licence
Its terms say you own your content. Printing for sale is not stated on its pages.
Watermark
Not stated on its pages.
Price
Free trial: 3 projects and 2 exports. Basic USD 33.99 a month; Pro USD 37.99 a month; 7 days USD 12. An account is required.
Source: https://kaleam.com · https://kaleam.com/KaleamTermsandConditions.html · read on 4 October 2026
Checked on 4 October 2026. Prices and terms change: the provider’s own page is the one that counts. A fact here is wrong? Tell us on WhatsApp and we correct it.
Free to design anywhere · made in the UAE · delivered in the UAE for AED 50 and worldwide for AED 250 per order