There are three ways to learn: a class with a teacher, private lessons, or a course you follow on your own. Each suits a different person. Below is what the UAE offers today, with the prices each provider shows on its own page, read on 4 October 2026.
Mashq Learn is ours. It is listed last, with the same two questions as everyone else: how you learn, and what it costs.
Which way suits you
You want a teacher to watch your hand and correct your pen: a class in person. Nothing replaces it, and it is how calligraphers have always been taught.
You want one script, at your own times: private lessons.
You want to practise every day at home, a few minutes at a time, and know whether each letter is right: an online course. Many learners do both: a class, and daily practice between classes.
Classes in person
Cultural Foundation, Bait Al Khatt (Abu Dhabi)
Format
In person. “Basics of Arabic Calligraphy”: four weekly sessions of two hours, for ages 14 and up. Bait Al Khatt also runs beginner, intermediate and master classes.
Price
AED 315 for the four sessions, or AED 100 for one.
Source: https://culturalfoundation.ae/en/event/basic-arabic-calligraphy · https://abudhabiculture.ae/en/cultural-programmes/education-and-outreach/bait-al-khatt · read on 4 October 2026
Dubai Culture (Dubai)
Format
In person, at centres including Al Jalila Cultural Centre for Children, ages 13 and up. Its announcement (September 2023) named Thuluth, Naskh, Diwani Jali, Ruq’ah and Ijazah.
Price
Not stated; current dates not found. See their site.
Source: https://www.mediaoffice.ae/en/news/2023/september/16-09/dubai-culture-calligraphy-courses · read on 4 October 2026
Sharjah Centre for the Art of Arabic Calligraphy and Ornamentation (Sharjah)
Format
Teaches in Sharjah and shows its students’ work. We could not find its course list online.
Price
Not stated: ask the centre.
Source: https://sdc.gov.ae/en/media-center/news/27/5/2024/90-works-by-37-participants-in-an-exhibition-of-calligraphic-and-decorative-creations · read on 4 October 2026
Private lessons (Skilldeer)
Private Kufic lessons with Amna, on Skilldeer (Dubai)
Format
One to one, in person in Dubai, 1 hour 30 minutes a session, in English. Kufic. Women only, 18 and up. Materials not included (about AED 150, its page says).
Price
AED 750 for 3 sessions, AED 1,000 for 5.
Source: https://skilldeer.com/uae/dubai/arts-entertainment/calligraphy/kufic-calligraphy-private-class-with-amna-7204 · read on 4 October 2026
The same Kufic lessons online, on Skilldeer
Format
Live online, one to one, 1 hour 30 minutes a session, in English, from age 15. Materials not included.
Price
AED 140 a session, AED 380 for 3, AED 545 for 5.
Source: https://skilldeer.com/uae/dubai/arts-entertainment/calligraphy/online-class-kufic-calligraphy-private-class-with-amna-online-class-7203 · read on 4 October 2026
Recorded courses online
Domestika: Kufic, and Maghrebi
Format
Recorded courses you watch at your own pace, in English: “Learn Kufic Script” (17 lessons, 2 h 24 min) and “Introduction to Arabic Calligraphy: Maghrebi Script” (18 lessons, 3 h 23 min). You bring your own reed pen and ink.
Price
Not stated on the course pages: see their site.
Source: https://www.domestika.org/en/courses/2257-arabic-calligraphy-learn-kufic-script · https://www.domestika.org/en/courses/2390-introduction-to-arabic-calligraphy-maghrebi-script/maaidanoor · read on 4 October 2026
Almentor: Ruq’ah
Format
A recorded course in Arabic, “Learn the Art of Ruqʿah Calligraphy”: 34 lessons, 2 h 46 min. You bring your own tools.
Price
A monthly subscription; the amount is not shown on the page: see their site.
Source: https://www.almentor.net/en/courses/Learn-The-Art-Of-Ru%CA%BFah-Calligraphy · read on 4 October 2026
Practice online with Mashq Learn
Mashq Learn (ours)
Format
Online and self-paced, in English or Arabic. Five scripts (Ruq’ah, Naskh, Thuluth, Diwani, Farsi), 43 lessons in each. You write on your screen with a stroke like a reed pen’s, and every letter is measured in dots, the way calligraphers measure it. The camera can also read the sheet you write on paper, on your own device. It is practice, not a school, and gives no accredited certificate.
Price
Level 1 of every script (the first 2 lessons) is free, with no account. Mashq Smart: AED 15 a month or AED 120 a year, one script. Smart Coach: AED 25 a month or AED 199 a year, all five scripts. Mashq Family: AED 349 a year for up to 4 people. Year + Kit: AED 349, a year of Smart Coach and a starter kit delivered in the UAE. With a Calligrapher: AED 249 a month, with a monthly group class and written corrections.
Source: https://studio.mashq.ae/learn/plans · read on 4 October 2026
Checked on 4 October 2026. Prices and dates change: the provider’s own page is the one that counts. A fact here is wrong? Tell us on WhatsApp and we correct it.
Free to design anywhere · made in the UAE · delivered in the UAE for AED 50 and worldwide for AED 250 per order